
A Game of Woodland Might and Right

Hireling Rules
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Hirelings
The hirelings lend their services to the faction in 
the lead, attracted to promises of fame and glory, 
but grow dissatisfied as the conflict drags on and 
eventually change allegiance to a new patron.

In any game of Root, you may add 
exactly three hirelings. However, most 
hirelings are associated with a faction, 
and you cannot play a faction in the 
same game as its associated faction.

Hireling Setup
After choosing your map and deck, you 
may set up hirelings as follows.

Step 1: Collect and Place Pieces. 
Collect the 12 control markers and the 
control die near the map. Place the 
3  hireling markers—marked “4,” “8,” 
and “12”—on the “4,” “8,” and “12” 
spaces of the score track on the map.
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Step 2: Deal Out Hirelings. Shuffle 
all the hireling cards, deal out three 
hireling cards, and collect their pieces. 
Return the rest to the box.

Step 3: Demote Hirelings. Flip hireling 
cards to their Promoted or Demoted  side 
(marked with “D” in its corner) randomly 
based on the number of players:

•	 Two players: 3 Promoted
•	 Three players: 2 Promoted, 1 Demoted
•	 Four players: 1 Promoted, 2 Demoted
•	 Five or more players: 3 Demoted 

Promoted hirelings have pieces you 
can use with the hireling’s actions. 
Demoted hirelings usually don’t 

have pieces, but give you abilities.

Step 4: Set Up Hirelings. Starting with 
the last player in turn order and going 
counterclockwise, the players each set 
up one hireling as described on its card.  
(Some hirelings have no setup, and sometimes 
a player won’t get to set up a hireling.)
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Gaining Hirelings 
The three hirelings start uncontrolled. 
They all start in a supply near the map.

Hirelings go to the leader first. If you’re 
the first player to score 4, 8, or 12 points, 
immediately take the hireling marker 
from the score track and put it under 
your Evening. This will remind you to 
gain a hireling at the end of your turn.

At the end of your turn, do these steps:

1.	Take any hireling card from the supply
2.	Roll for control (described on page 6)
3.	Flip over your hireling marker



It is your turn. You just scored a point, and you 
are the first to reach 4 points on the score track. 

You take the hireling marker from the “4” point 
space and put it under your faction board. Now 
that you’ve taken this hireling marker, no one 
else can gain a hireling by reaching 4 points.

Example

2 3 4 5

END OF TURN:
Take a hireling from the supply. 

Roll for control. Flip this marker.

END OF TURN:
Take a hireling from the supply. 

Roll for control. Flip this marker.

2 3 4 5

END OF TURN:
Take a hireling from the supply. 

Roll for control. Flip this marker.
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You just finished Evening. As reminded by your 
hireling marker, you get to take one hireling card 
from the supply, so you take the Forest Patrol. You 
roll the control die and get one red pip and one 
gold pip. You only count the one gold pip since 
you have the most victory points, so you place one 
control marker on the Forest Patrol card.

Finally, you flip your hireling marker to 
remind you what to do on your following turns.

Example

END OF TURN:
Take a hireling from the supply. 

Roll for control. Flip this marker.

END OF TURN:
Take a hireling from the supply. 

Roll for control. Flip this marker.

END OF TURN:

?
Remove a control marker from hireling. 
If it is now empty, give the hireling and 
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Whenever you take any hireling card, 
roll for control. Roll the control die. 
Take control markers from the supply 
equal in number to the die roll, and 
put them on the hireling card you took. 
Count only the gold die pips if you 
have the most victory points or are tied 
for it. Otherwise, count all the die pips, 
including with a dominance card.



It is your next turn, 
and you just finished 
Evening. You remove 
the one and only 
control marker from 
the Forest Patrol.

Example
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Hirelings lose motivation over time... 
At the end of your turn, you must 
remove one control marker from each 
hireling that you control, except those 
you just took from the supply.



END OF TURN:

?
Remove a control marker from hireling. 
If it is now empty, give the hireling and 

END OF TURN:

?
Remove a control marker from hireling. 
If it is now empty, give the hireling and 

2 3 4 5

Lords of the Forest
You rule any clearings 
where you are tied in 
presence.

In a moment of weakness the Marquise 
descended. Now you have rallied your 
strength and are poised to recapture 
your birthright.

Eyrie Dynasties
Disdain for Trade 
When cra
ing 
items, you score 
only        .

Birdsong

Daylight

Evening

Add one or two cards to the Decree. 
Only one card added may be a       .

Score         of rightmost empty space on the Roosts track.

Draw 1 card, plus 1 card per          showing. Discard down to 5 cards.

Battle Build

The Decree

Turmoil 

Humiliate: Lose one victory point per 
bird card (including Viziers) on Decree.

Purge: Discard Decree, except Viziers.

Rest: Immediately end Daylight
and go to Evening.

Recruit Move

If your hand is empty, draw 1 card.

If you have no roosts, place a roost and 3 warriors
in the clearing with the fewest warriors.

+0

+1

+1 +2 +3 +4 +4 +5

Depose: Flip leader face down and 
choose a new one. Reassign Viziers.

VP

Resolve the Decree from le
 column to right, 
taking one action per card in a matching clearing.

Cra
 using roosts. 

…in a matching clearing 
you rule without a roost.

…in a matching clearing 
with a roost.

…from a matching clearing. …in a matching clearing.

Roosts

1st

2nd

1st

2nd

3rd

4th

Crafted Items
Vagabond can give you cards to take these items.

1st

2nd

3rd

Leader Card

�e Forest Patrol has no control markers now, so 
you must give it to another player. You’re tied 
with the Eyrie for the most points, but you 
decide they should get the Forest Patrol. You give 
them the Forest Patrol card and the hireling 
marker, and they roll the control die. �ey roll 
two gold pips, so they put two control markers 
on the Forest Patrol card.

Example
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...and they eventually switch players. 
When you remove the last control 
marker from a hireling, you must 
immediately give its hireling card and 
marker to any other player. That player 
puts the hireling marker below their 
Evening, as a reminder, and immediately 
rolls for control, as described before. 



You are the Eyrie Dynasties and control the 
Forest Patrol. You have one Eyrie warrior and 
one Patrol warrior in a clearing, and the 
Lizard Cult has two warriors there. You have 
a total presence of two, and they do as well. 
But you are the Lords of the Forest, so you rule 
on ties for presence.

Example
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Using Hirelings
You do not score points when hirelings 
that you control remove enemy pieces. 
Mostly, this means you won’t score 
when your hirelings battle and remove 
enemy buildings and tokens.

Hirelings you control add to rule. 
While you control a hireling, you treat 
all its pieces as your own for rule.

Hirelings have various abilities and 
actions they can take:

•	 When-Hired Action ( ). The 
controlling player must take this 
action when they gain control of the 
hireling (when they take the card). 
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•	 Ability ( ). Abilities are always active, 
though some say when they happen. 

•	 Start-of-Birdsong Action ( ).  At the 
start of their Birdsong, the controlling 
player must or may take this action, as 
the action describes.

•	 Once-Per-Daylight Action ( ). The 
controlling player may take this action 
once in their Daylight.

Some hirelings give actions or abilities 
to their controlling player. These say 
“Controller:” at the start.

Common Questions
Can I add hireling warriors to my own 
when moving or battling?
Nope! They’re completely separate.

Do hirelings count as my faction pieces?
Nope! For example, the Vagabond could 
not aid you by using hireling pieces.

Can I play an ambush if someone is 
battling my hireling?
Nope!
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Are hirelings considered enemy pieces?
If you control them, no! But hirelings 
you do not control, even if they’re still in 
the supply, are enemies. For example, if 
you used Favor of the Foxes, you would 
not remove hireling pieces you control 
from fox clearings, but you would remove 
hireling pieces you did not control. 

Can I take actions with my hirelings in 
ways outside the hireling’s card?
Nope. For example, you couldn’t move 
hirelings by using the Move action of the 
Eyrie’s Decree, or by using the Cobbler 
card. Even if you’re the Vagabond and 
you’re Allied with a faction, you cannot 
move their hirelings.

Can my hirelings use my faction abilities?
Almost never. For example, you could not 
use the Marquise’s Field Hospitals to save 
hireling warriors. The only exception is 
abilities that affect rule, such as Lords of 
the Forest, since you treat hireling pieces 
as your own for rule.
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Any weird things I should know about?
Yes! Some abilities say they happen 
“when a player moves” or “when a player 
removes,” such as the Alliance’s Outrage 
and the Ferry from the Underworld 
Expansion. In these cases, the ability 
triggers even if a player moves hireling 
warriors or uses hirelings to remove 
something. For example, you could move 
hireling warriors you control using the 
Ferry, and you would draw a card, but 
you could not move any warriors on the 
Ferry later on the same turn.

Need a replacement part? 
ledergames.com/replacements

Learn more about Root:  
ledergames.com/root


